Letters to Medea

Dear Medea,

It could be said that you went a little overboard, killing your husband’s new wife, her father, and then your two children! Are you mad! I feel as though I can understand why you would kill Jason’s new bride, I mean come on he is still married to you and he lets that cankerous whore in your bed! I even get the whole killing her father deal as well. To end the lives of your children; isn’t that taking the whole revenge things to far? No offense or anything.

Sincerely,

A semi-fearful fan, that has no children for you to kill.

Coward,

You dare say I, as you put it “went over board.” Half-measures are not for the likes of me. You examine my life as you would a shark, from the safety of your decrepit ship. Does a lion have need to explain herself to her prey? No! I do as I so chose because I am Medea; I am that I am. I will not allow one who was once so close to my heart run free with his trespasses, no crime against me will go unpunished. I do not partially commit to my actions, only a coward such as you would commit to half-measures. I killed those children, but they were no longer MY children. Those sacks of flesh were merely an extension of my foolish husband, and as I would a rotted limb, I cut them free. I would do so again if need be, I suffered his choices, choices in which he thought it well to not include my heart in. So I did more than he, I included his heart in my decisions, I carved it out entirely and thereby decimating any roots that threaten to take hold and regrow anew for all time. So I ask you, coward, am I not merciful in my finality?

Medea

P.S. Don’t ever have children, for you know not their worth.

Leave a comment